What is a NETWORK TAP?

The term TAP is an abbreviation for Test Access Port. A TAP establishes a passive access point to the network, whereby the network data transmitted via the cable can be read for analysis purposes. TAPs also copy the critical network packets with CRC errors, which are of great importance during troubleshooting or analysis.

A standard TAP has 4 network connections and is looped into the network cable via 2 ports. It therefore sits directly on the cable. A copy of the network traffic is fed out via the other 2 ports and can thus monitor a full-duplex line without interruption. When using these classic TAPs, 2 ports each are required on the monitoring tool for analysis, as TX & RX are routed out separately.

Another advantage of this routing method is that the network packets can be analysed by the monitoring system on the basis of their transmission direction. This also enables the analysis of a fully loaded full-duplex line transparently and without losses. Network TAPs are available for all common network topologies and speeds from 10MBit/s up to 400Gbps.

Network TAP - Breakout Mode
Network TAP
with Breakout mode

What is AGGREGATION?

Aggregation refers to the interconnection or bundling of network data packets that come from either a single full-duplex (TX & RX) or multiple lines.

Aggregation can be used, for example, to analyse and evaluate the full-duplex data of one or more data lines with a single network interface. The aggregation device receives the data from the corresponding lines, combines them in the correct order and sends these packets out to one or more ports.

Network TAP - Aggregation Mode Diagram
Network TAP
with Aggregation mode

What is a PORT AGGREGATION TAP?

A Port Aggregation TAP differs from the normal TAP in that the decoupled full duplex data TX & RX are aggregated to a single output port.

In this way, the data to be analysed is output on one monitoring port and no further interfaces are required on the monitoring device.

However, it is not necessary to use a special Aggregation TAP for aggregation. All our PacketRaven Network TAPs – except the pure Fiber TAPs – are capable of breakout, aggregation and regeneration modes.

What is a REGENERATION TAP?

Regeneration TAPs work in the same way as regular Network TAPs, but make the tapped data available for monitoring to several analysis tools at the same time.

This means that the network data tapped from the network can be monitored for different purposes by several monitoring tools at the same time.

However, it is not necessary to use a special Regeneration TAP for regeneration . All our PacketRaven Network TAPs – except the pure Fiber TAPs – are capable of breakout, aggregation and regeneration modes.

Network TAP - Regeneration/SPAN Mode Diagram
Network TAP
with Regeneration mode

What is LINK LOSS DETECTION?

Link Loss Detection is an important feature for Network TAPs with copper ports and transparently transmits link information to the network ports. If a device connected to port A fails or the link is deactivated by the network component for any reason, the LLD function shuts down the link to port B and thus ensures that HA connections function without problems.

Assuming that port B would not notice this link deactivation in such a case, the connection to network side B would still be active and network routes and HA protocols could not work properly.

Daten Diode Function of our Network TAPs
NEOXPacketRaven Network TAPs
with Data Diode Function

What is a DATA DIODE function?

Data diodes ensure unidirectional communication and ensure that data traffic can only flow in one direction.

Unidirectional network devices are typically used to ensure information security or the protection of critical digital systems, such as industrial control systems or production networks from cyber attacks.

Our TAPs work like a diode and do not allow access to the network via the monitoring ports for security reasons.

By adding this further layer of security, it is therefore not possible to compromise the network connection and the productive network.

What is FAIL-SAFE?

Since Network TAPs are usually installed in critical network lines, it must be ensured that TAPs do not affect the line in any way. By means of fail-safe, the TAP behaves like a cable bridge in the event of a failure or arbitrary deactivation and ensures that the active network connection is not interrupted or at least continues to function without the TAP function and thus does not negatively affect the active line.

Are all PHYSICAL ERRORS (CRC) passed on to the monitoring tools?

These important errors are passed on to the output ports for analysis in all products.

We will be happy to consult you and look forward to hearing from you!

Was ist ein NETZWERK-TAP?

Der Ausdruck TAP ist eine Abkürzung und steht für Test Access Port. Ein TAP stellt einen passiven Zugriffspunkt zum Netzwerk her, womit die über das Kabel übertragenen Netzwerkdaten zu Analysezwecken mitgelesen werden können. TAPs kopieren auch die kritischen Netzwerkpakete mit CRC Fehler, die bei einer Fehlersuche oder Analyse von großer Bedeutung sind.

Ein Standard-TAP besitzt 4 Netzwerkanschlüsse und wird über 2 Ports in die Netzwerkleitung eingeschleift. Es sitzt somit direkt auf dem Kabel. Über die anderen 2 Ports bekommt man eine Kopie des Netzwerkverkehrs ausgeleitet und kann damit eine voll-duplex Leitung unterbrechungsfrei überwachen. Beim Einsatz dieser klassischen TAPs werden zur Analyse jeweils 2 Anschlüsse am Monitoring-Tool benötigt, da TX & RX separat ausgeleitet werden.

Ein weiterer Vorteil dieser Ausleitungsmethode ist, dass die Netzwerkpakete vom Monitoring System anhand Ihrer Senderichtung analysiert werden können. Dies ermöglicht zudem die Analyse einer voll ausgelasteten voll-duplex Leitung transparent und ohne Verluste. Netzwerk-TAPs sind erhältlich für alle gängigen Netzwerk Topologien und Geschwindigkeiten von 10MBit/s bis zu 400Gbps.

Network TAP - Breakout Mode
Netzwerk-TAP
im Breakout-Modus

Was ist AGGREGATION?

Bei einer Aggregation spricht man vom Zusammenschalten bzw. Bündeln von Netzwerk Datenpaketen, die entweder von einer einzelnen voll-duplex (TX & RX) oder mehreren Leitungen kommen.

Mit Hilfe der Aggregation kann man z.B. mit einer einzelnen Netzwerk Schnittstelle die Voll-Duplex Daten einer oder mehrerer Datenleitungen analysieren und auswerten. Das Aggregationsgerät nimmt die Daten von den entsprechenden Leitungen entgegen, fügt sie in der richtigen Reihenfolge zusammen und sendet diese Pakete an einen oder mehrere Ports aus.

Network TAP - Aggregation Mode Diagram
Netzwerk-TAP
im Aggregations-Modus

Was ist ein PORT AGGREGATION-TAP?

Ein Port Aggregation-TAP unterscheidet sich vom normalen TAP dahingehend, dass die ausgekoppelten Voll-Duplex Daten TX & RX auf einen einzelnen Ausgangsport aggregiert werden.

So erhält man die zu analysierenden Daten auf einem Überwachungsport ausgegeben und benötigt keine weiteren Schnittstellen auf dem Monitoring-Gerät.

Es ist jedoch nicht umbedingt notwendig zwecks Aggregation ein spezielles Aggregation-TAP einzusetzen. Alle unsere PacketRaven Netzwerk-TAPs – außer den reinen Fiber-TAPs – beherrschen Breakout-, Aggregations- und Regenerations-Modi.

Was ist ein REGENERATION-TAP?

Regeneration-TAPs arbeiten in der Funktionsweise wie reguläre Netzwerk-TAPs, stellen aber die abgegriffenen Daten für die Überwachung mehreren Analyse-Tools gleichzeitig zur Verfügung.

Damit können die aus dem Netzwerk abgegriffenen Netzwerkdaten für verschiedene Zwecke von mehreren Monitoring-Tools zeitgleich überwacht werden.

Es ist jedoch nicht umbedingt notwendig zwecks Regeneration ein spezielles Regeneration-TAP einzusetzen. Alle unsere PacketRaven Netzwerk-TAPs – außer den reinen Fiber-TAPs – beherrschen Breakout-, Aggregations- und Regenerations-Modi.

Network TAP - Regeneration/SPAN Mode Diagram
Netzwerk-TAP
im Regenerations-Modus

Was ist LINK LOSS DETECTION?

Link Loss Detection ist ein wichtiges Feature bei Netzwerk-TAPs mit Kupferanschlüssen und überträgt Link Informationen transparent auf die Netzwerkports. Falls ein an Port A angeschlossenes Gerät ausfällt bzw. der Link aus irgendwelchen Gründen von der Netzwerkkomponente deaktiviert wird, schaltet die LLD-Funktion den Link zum Port B herunter und sorgt so dafür, dass HA-Verbindungen problemlos funktionieren.
Angenommen, Port B würde in so einem Fall von dieser Linkdeaktivierung nichts mitbekommen, dann wäre die Verbindung zur Netzwerkseite B noch aktiv und Netzwerkrouten und HA-Protokolle könnten nicht ordnungsgemäß arbeiten.

Datendioden-Funktion unserer Netzwerk-TAPs
Datendioden-Funktion
bei NEOXPacketRaven Netzwerk-TAPs

Was ist die DATENDIODEN-Funktion?

Datendioden gewährleisten eine unidirektionale Kommunikation und stellen sicher, dass der Datenverkehr nur in eine Richtung fliessen kann.

Unidirektionale Netzwerkgeräte werden in der Regel eingesetzt, um die Informationssicherheit oder den Schutz kritischer digitaler Systeme, wie z. B. industrieller Kontrollsysteme oder Produktivnetze vor Cyberangriffen zu gewährleisten.

Unsere TAPs arbeiten wie eine Diode und lassen aus Sicherheitsgründen einen Zugriff über die Monitoring-Ports auf das Netzwerk nicht zu.

Durch die Hinzufügung dieses weiteren Sicherheits-Layers ist somit keine Kompromitierung der Netzwerkverbindung und des Produktivnetzwerks möglich.

Was ist FAIL-SAFE?

Da Netzwerk-TAPs meist in kritische Netzwerkleitungen installiert werden, ist sicherzustellen, dass TAPs die Leitung in keinster Weise beeinflussen. Mittels Fail-Safe verhält der TAP sich bei einem Stromausfall oder bei einer willkürlichen Deaktivierung wie eine Kabelbrücke und stellt sicher, dass die aktive Netzwerkverbindung der entsprechenden Endgeräte wieder hergestellt wird.

Werden alle PHYSIKALISCHEN FEHLER (CRC) an die Monitoring-Tools weitergereicht?

Diese wichtigen Fehler werden zur Analyse bei allen Produkten an die Ausgangsports durchgereicht.

Wir beraten Sie gerne und freuen uns über Ihre Kontaktaufnahme!